Luminosa Award for Unity

The Luminosa Award for Unity given to groups and individuals whose lives and works contribute to universal brotherhood,

To recognize persons or groups whose lives and works contribute to universal brotherhood, the Focolare’s goal, the Luminosa Award for Unity has been given annually since 1988. It is sponsored by Mariapolis Luminosa, the Focolare’s little city in Hyde Park, New York.

Both the little city and the award take their name from Margarita Bavosi, a focolarina from Argentina who died in 1985, offering her life for the cause of unity. ‘Luminosa,’ meaning light, luminous, was the name that was given to her because everything about her was luminous. She directed the movement in Spain for many years.

Past Recipients of the Luminosa Award for Unity

1988 Pio Cardinal Laghi
Apostolic Pro-Nuncio to the United States

1989 William Cardinal Keeler
Archbishop of Baltimore
Former President of the US National Conference of Catholic Bishops

1990 Mother Mary Rose Schulte
Foundress, Sisters Servants of Christ the King, Wisconsin

Professor Don Mitchell, Christian

Purdue University, Indiana
Mrs. Norma Levitt, Jewish
World Union for Progressive Judaism, New Jersey
Dawud Assad, Muslim
World Muslim League, New York

1992 Professor Abe Masao, Buddhist
Professor of Buddhism, Purdue University, Indiana

1993 The Tekakwitha Conference
Award received by Ms. Vivian Juan, President

1994 Rev. Diane Kessler, Executive Director
Massachusetts Council of Churches, Boston. MA

1995 Rabbi Jack Bemporad, Director
Center for Christian-Jewish Understanding, Sacred Heart University, Fairfield CT

1996 John Cardinal O’Connor
Archbishop of New York

1997 Imam Warith Deen Mohammed, leader
American Society of Muslims, Chicago, Ill.

1998 Dr. Paul A. Crow, Jr.
Former President of Council on Christian Unity of the Christian Church
(Disciples of Christ), Indianapolis, IN

1999 Patt Shea, Screenwriter and Jack Shea, President
Directors Guild of America, Los Angeles, CA

2001 His Royal Highness Lukas Njifua Fontem
King of the Bangwa People of Cameroon

2002 Dr. Shantilal K. Somaiya, Chairman
K. J. Somaiya Trust, Mumbai, India

2003 Bishop Henrik Svenungsson
Swedish Lutheran emeritus Bishop of Stockholm

2004 Rev. Nichiko Niwano
President of the Rissho Kosei Kai (Buddhist movement), Tokyo, Japan

2005 Senator Douglas Roche
Former Canadian Ambassador for Disarmament to the United Nations
and Advisor to the Holy See

2006 Theodore Cardinal McCarrick
Archbishop emeritus, Archdiocese of Washington, D.C.

2008 Dr. Anthony Cernera
Former President of Sacred Heart University, Fairfield, Connecticut and
President of the International Federation of Catholic Universities

2010 Mr. & Mrs. Howard and Rose Belcher
among the Focolare pioneers of North America from Chicago

2012 Catholic Charities Spanish Catholic Center, Washington, D.C.
Award received by Rev. Mario Dorsonville, Director